Emily Addison: BA (HONS) Fashion Design and Production Case Study

Emily Addison

“After Graduating from Harrogate College in May 2012 with a first class honour’s degree in Fashion Design and Production, I went on to become a CAD designer at a local clothing manufacturing company, who is a major supplier of Lingerie to Marks and Spencer. I got an interview for the position through connections at college and from there I continued to progress in the role rapidly for the next 12 months. In August 2013 when I was offered the opportunity to progress into an Assistant Designer role, I jumped at the chance.

I now design lingerie for the Autograph brand within M&S. This involves developing products from concept to production including pattern drafting and overseeing sample mock ups, attending meetings at M&S head office in London and flying to Paris for trade shows to meet and liaise with suppliers. After 18 months of determination, I am now delighted to have had my first range with M&S hit stores in February this year. Since being online and in-store, ‘Siren’ has also been featured in a number of magazines and newspapers, such as the Sunday Mirror and Look magazine, which is something I am very proud of.

Throughout my time at Harrogate College I met lots of lovely people who helped me achieve my ambition to become a Fashion Designer and I feel that the encouragement and guidance throughout my time there had a significant impact on this. Harrogate College is a fantastic learning environment and it gave me a great foundation to enter the industry with confidence, from print design to detailed reports and intricate pattern drafting. Each aspect of the course enabled me to develop much needed skills that set me up for a career in this fast paced industry”.

 

 

For more information on courses, please visit the Harrogate College website.

One thought on “Emily Addison: BA (HONS) Fashion Design and Production Case Study

Leave a Reply

