Student off the starting grid for work

Harrogate College Level 3 motor vehicle student Louise Claxton, has secured job as Junior Sub Assembly Engineer at Ginetta.

Louise Claxton Racing

Having studied at Harrogate College for two years, starting at a Level 2 due to prior knowledge of the subject, Louise is driving straight into full time employment with the racing company.

The 18-year-old said: “I’ve thoroughly enjoyed studying on this course as the work shop facilities are second to none.

“There is a great combination of practical and theory based work and the tutors and technicians are incredibly knowledgeable and will do anything to help.”

Louise is following in the footsteps of her father and grandfather, in the world of racing.

“I’ve always wanted to be a mechanic as I’ve grown up around cars.

“My Dad and Grandad have always both been into racing and it’s definitely a road I want to go down too.

“In the future, I’d like to own my own racing business, so the knowledge and skills I’ve learned at Harrogate College have put me on the right track to achieving that goal.

“My confidence has grown massively and allowed me to secure this job at Ginetta, which I’m incredibly excited to begin.”

Louise also won Best Novice at the Three Sisters race track in Wigan, in her very first sprint race.

Louise and Mum

Founded in 1958 by the four Walklett brothers, Ginetta Cars Limited produces predominantly race or road/race orientated cars.

“Ginetta offer young people such as myself, fantastic opportunities to begin a career within the racing industry,” added Louise.

“I can’t wait to put the skills I have learned into action.”

After being tipped off about Ginetta vacancies by a college motor vehicle technician, Louise underwent two interviews including practical tests where she pulled out all the stops to earn the full time job.

 

Harrogate Advertiser, 3rd July 2015

Leave a Reply

