Sarah Mansbridge – Apprenticeship at Harrogate Hospital

Sarah Mansbridge has been studying at Harrogate College for two years, beginning on the NVQ Level 2 in Business and Administration and progressing on to the Level 3 course.

Sarah took part in an Apprenticeship sourced by HCUK Training, with Harrogate Hospital, working as a Clerical Assistant, which is now her full time and permanent job.

Sarah Mansbridge

“I chose to study with Harrogate College because it was close to the hospital and I’d heard positive things about the success rates of apprentices going on to further education or employment. I had also had other friends go there to study other courses and they enjoyed their time there.”

“I didn’t really know what I wanted to do when I left school, so when I enquired about the apprenticeship and learnt about what the course would entail, I liked the sound of it. As I started doing some of the work for the apprenticeship I really got in to the writing out for each unit as oddly, I like that kind of thing! I also liked the idea of earning whilst learning.”

Sarah discussed what she enjoys about Harrogate College.

“I like how close it is to the hospital so when I go in now, I don’t miss much work at the hospital due to travelling time. It’s also really easy to get to, walking and on the train. I love how friendly the staff are and easy to get on with. My assessor is really supportive and helps guide me through what I need to do to complete each unit. I liked having 2 days at work, one day for college and college work, and then 2 days back at work.”

Sarah hopes to continue gaining qualifications which will allow her to progress in her career.

“The tutors at Harrogate College have helped me to gain the qualifications I need to progress further through my career and also helped me to gain the experience that employers always look for. If I can keep learning and gaining new qualifications, skills and experience, it will give me a greater chance over other people on getting the job I want which will help to fund my future.”

“In the future, I would like to be able to fund day trips, holidays, presents and treats for myself and friends. Eventually, I would like to move in to my own house, get a dog and lead a happy life.”

Sarah was nominated by her line manager at Harrogate Hospital for the Health Education Talent for Care Awards, for which she won Highly Commended Intermediate Non- Clinical Apprentice of the Year.

“Through the Apprenticeship, I have grown in confidence because I was eased in to situations, guided through tasks and supported through out.”

Sarah was interviewed on Stray FM about her journey and Apprenticeship program with Harrogate College.

“I really enjoyed being interviewed on Stray FM, I would never have been able to do anything like that without the Apprenticeship.”

Leave a Reply

