Harrogate College fashion student as finalist in The Clothes Show Live Young Designer Competition

Holly Greenwood studying in her second year on BA (HONS) Fashion has been selected as a finalist at The Clothes Show Live, Young Designer Competition 2015. Clothes Show Live

Beginning as a summer project, the brief for The Clothes Show Live, Young Designer Competition was to design an outfit suitable for a top fashion blogger attending Tokyo fashion week. It had to be a full outfit consisting of jacket, top, trousers, bag and shoes measured to a size 10 model. Entrants had to then submit a project book, design illustrations, flat drawings and two mood boards to the panel and then cross their fingers.

Submissions were shortlisted to ten finalists who will see their designs come to life on the catwalk at the Birmingham NEC on 6th December 2015.

Holly Greenwood

Holly Greenwood from Harrogate College entered the competition as suggested by course tutor Annabel Smith, to gain experience in working with a live brief and to add to her growing portfolio of work.

“I waited to hear from the panel for what felt like ages, so naturally I assumed I hadn’t made the cut, but had already been a worthwhile experience!” – Holly Greenwood, BA (HONS) Fashion

Holly is now working hard to create her full outfit, ready for the annual Clothes Show Live competition.

Holly Greenwood

Holly says her inspiration came from street style and she immediately immersed herself in researching a variety of fabrics, patterns and textures that could be combined into a winning outfit.

“No adjustments are allowed to be made on the day so I had to take that into consideration to avoid any sagging or clothes that were too tight for the model. I chose a fabric that looks best hanging loosely.” – Holly Greenwood.

Fabric

The Young Designer Competition, sponsored by Olympus Pen offers entrants the opportunity to get a taste for life in the fast paced fashion industry, working with models, to a tight deadline and also on a catwalk. Holly, along with the nine other finalists will be attending The Clothes Show Live to see their creations worn by professional models on the catwalk.

“I didn’t think I was in with a chance of becoming a finalist, but my hard work over the summer has paid off and now I get to see my outfit on the catwalk! The skills and techniques that I learned in the first year of my course have massively helped me get to where I am right now.

Even if I come in tenth place, this experience has been absolutely amazing and I’m so grateful to Annabel for her help and support.” – Holly Greenwood.

Holly Greenwood

“I’m extremely proud of and excited for Holly. She has put an incredible amount of work into this project and gained a lot of valuable experience from it. I can’t wait to see her outfit come to life!” – Annabel Smith, course tutor.

In the future, Holly sees herself working in fashion design or researching, working for a magazine or designer.

“My college course has helped me tremendously not only with this particular project but also with my future aims. It’s solidified the fact I want to work in the fashion industry, as we have covered all different aspects of fashion, skills and techniques.”

The winning designer will, amongst other prizes, have their outfit feature in Bright Young Things 2016 campaign, be offered work experience with Olympus Pen, a £1000 prize money and £500 will be donated to their education establishment’s art and design department.

Follow Holly’s progress at her Instagram.

Leave a Reply

