Letty Gwanzura – HNC Art and Design / BA (HONS) Fashion

Letty Gwanzura has been with us at Harrogate College since 2013 beginning on an evening dressmaking course, then onto HNC Art and Design and progressing on to BA (HONS) Fashion.

Letty Gwanzura

“I chose to study at Harrogate College because of the great resources available to the students and also that there is good child care close by.”

As a mature student, Letty works as a part time care assistant in a care home in Harrogate, whilst continuing to study at Harrogate College.

“After completing the HNC in Art and Design, I wanted to continue on to BA (HONS) Fashion as I initially wasn’t great at drawing and I learned so much that I just couldn’t stop!”

“Originally from Zimbabwe, I hadn’t been in education long and I enjoyed a great grounding and framework on the courses.”

“I really enjoy the support from tutors as they’re very friendly people!”

Letty graduated from the HNC course in October 2015 but her learning hasn’t stopped there as she now enjoys learning a variety of further skills on BA (HONS) Fashion.

Letty

Letty knows that the skills and experience that she has learned throughout her time at Harrogate College will send her on the path to achieving her goals.

“The degree course is very technical; we are learning to use software that will definitely help us in the industry.”

“I’d love to become a fashion designer as my husband is a film maker so I want to be able to do the costume design, particularly contemporary African style clothing.”

Letty also had a screen print of her work whilst studying on the HNC Art and Design course, hanging in the Scarborough Museum at the end of 2014.

 

Leave a Reply

