Visual Arts Charity Show in aid of the Harrogate Homeless Project

VISUAL ARTS CHARITY SHOW IN AID OF HARROGATE HOMELESS PROJECT

FRIDAY 29TH JANUARY 2016 / 6.30PM – 9.30PM /

WESLEY CENTRE HARROGATE HG1 1PP

 

My name is Becky Rigg. I’m a second year Fine Art student at Harrogate College and having seen so much in the media about the homeless of Harrogate before Christmas 2015, I decided to take it upon myself to do something to raise money and awareness.

I decided that I would organise an event and within two days, I had done just that. I feel very strongly about helping people in need, but organising an event that people would actually attend was all brand new to me.

I got in touch with the Harrogate Homeless Project and spoke to Liz Hancock who was incredibly supportive and before I knew it I had pages of ideas scribbled down, with the outcome that I would organise a Visual Arts Charity Show. People could then donate all kinds of art work to be sold with all the proceeds going to the Harrogate Homeless Project.

I then needed a venue; a venue with easy access and that visitors would find without problems. I also wanted a venue with character and charm and one that was inspiring to look around. I love Church architecture and so I contacted the Wesley Chapel where the staff were extremely supportive of the event.

The exhibition would be nothing without the art so I immediately set to work on spreading the word to local art groups, photographic societies, friends, students at Harrogate College and artists from all over the country. The response was fantastic and is continuing to grow, reaching far and wide. All kinds of mixed media art work has been donated and more is flooding in!

Anything goes as it’s all for an extremely worthy cause. Donations will be accepted until Friday 22nd January. Please visit the event’s Facebook page for more information and I hope to see you there!

You can submit work by getting in touch with me at beckyr08@hotmail.co.uk.

Charity art exhibition

Leave a Reply

