Alex Hinchcliffe – BTEC Extended Diploma in Uniformed Public Services

Alex HinchcliffeAlex Hinchcliffe studies on the BTEC Extended Diploma in Uniformed Public Services course at Harrogate College with a view to one day joining the Police force. The former St Aidan’s student has always wanted to join the force, so with this in mind, he began studying towards that goal two years ago.

“Harrogate College was the most logical place for me to attend, as I’d heard great things about the UPS course. I also came to an open event to find out more information and immediately liked the tutor. I’ve always wanted to join the Police since I was really young so this was a natural choice and I really enjoy it!”

“I particularly enjoy learning about the ways each different Public Service runs and works and I’m forming my own opinions in our Politics unit.”

Alex plans to go to Manchester University upon completing his Level 3 course, to study Criminology, before going into the Police force, but has already applied to the North Yorkshire Special Constables; a voluntary service that will provide Alex with valuable experience and skills.

The North Yorkshire Special Constables are a part time and voluntary service who work alongside the Police, doing a minimum of four hours a week. Special Constables are trained volunteers who have the same powers, uniform and responsibilities as Police officers and they play a crucial role in linking the community with the Police service.

 

“I applied early January as they were running a campaign that caught my eye. I heard that I’d been successful in the first stage of my application in February and I’m over the moon. Becoming a Special Constable is the best way for me to achieve my goal of becoming a full time Police Officer.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

