Uniformed Public Services students apply for North Yorkshire Special Constables

Two students studying on the BTEC Extended Diploma in Uniformed Public Services course at Harrogate College have recently been successful in their initial applications to be Special Constables within North Yorkshire Police.

Ben Hawkins & Alex Hinchcliffe
Ben Hawkins and Alex Hinchcliffe

The North Yorkshire Special Constables are a part time and voluntary service who works alongside the Police, doing a minimum of four hours a week. Special Constables are voluntary police officers with the same powers, uniform and responsibilities as paid police officers. They undergo an intensive training programme to prepare them for a challenging, demanding and varied role. Being a special takes real dedication and commitment, requiring exceptional people who are looking to make a difference.

Alex Hinchcliffe and Ben Hawkins are Level 3 students in their second year of studying at the college, and both are passionate about one day joining the Police Service.

Alex said: “I’ve wanted to join the Police since I was really young so enrolling on the Uniformed Public Services course was a natural choice for me to be able to put my efforts in to achieving my goal, and I really enjoy it!”

Alex plans on going to Manchester University to study Criminology upon completion of his Level 3 course, and joining the Police service afterwards. However, Ben has already signed up for the North Yorkshire Special Constables.

“I applied early January as they were running a recruitment campaign that caught my eye. I heard that I’d been successful in the first stage of my application in February and I’m over the moon. Becoming a Special Constable is the best way for me to achieve my goal of becoming a full time Police Officer.

Colleague Ben also dreams of joining the Police and knows his studies will help him to get there.

“My studies here will definitely help me to reach the Police force as we’re learning so many relevant skills. We event get to do riot training with the Police at their Wakefield training facility. I want to get as high up as I can in the service, trying out as much as possible to see which area I enjoy the most.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll be successful in joining the Special Constables, as it would be a fantastic way to work my way up to being in the Police.”

 

Leave a Reply

