GCSE results day at Harrogate College

Harrogate College’s students and staff celebrated another year of excellent GCSE results! following extra study workshops to support students throughout their exams.

Harrogate College attracts many hard working students from different age groups and academic backgrounds, who all have their reasons for wanting to gain a higher grade in GCSE English, maths or science.

This year was no exception and the nervous students streamed through the door on Thursday 25 August to collect the results that they have worked so hard to achieve.

Overall, grades were excellent with a 96% pass rate across the board, with some students achieving A*grades.

Tutors have seen an increase in improved grades this year following extra GCSE workshops to support students through their exams.

Harrogate College Principal Debra Forsythe-Conroy said: “I’m extremely proud of our students for achieving such excellent GCSE results, as well as the staff who work tirelessly to support students through the year.”

Brother and sister Nathan and Lauren Gosling both passed their GCSE maths and were very pleased with their efforts.

“I needed to improve my GCSE maths grade in order to go to university to study Physiotherapy. I’d definitely advise anybody thinking about it to just do it, what have you got to lose? After studying and Access course at Harrogate College, I’ll be on my way to uni!” – Lauren Gosling.

“I wanted to gain a higher grade than I achieved at school so that I can progress in my career. I dreaded it at first, but my confidence grew each week and I really started to enjoy it! I’m so pleased that I’ve done it and achieved my goal.” – Nathan Gosling.

Stray FM ‘s host Beth Parsons was also on hand to celebrate with students as they opened their results live on air.

 

Leave a Reply

